Smaller than a Nano.

Can a cache be smaller than a Nano? If it is what should we call it? Has anyone seen anything smaller than a Nano?

The prefix pico means 10-12 (nano means 10-9). Even smaller are femto(10-15), atto(10-18), zepto(10-21), and yocto(10-24).

I like those names- what do you think?

A waste of time?

Cute thread, but it's probably going to go where I'm quoting above. :laughing:

Yes, being an engineer, I'm familiar with all those prefixes from the ol' school days. As a matter of fact, I've been stressing the importance of knowing and working with scientific notation to the pharmicist wanna-be daughter.

P.S. micros should have been millis all along, and nanos would have been micros. :blink:

Edited by Mr.Yuck

Can a cache be smaller than a Nano? If it is what should we call it? Has anyone seen anything smaller than a Nano?

The prefix pico means 10-12 (nano means 10-9). Even smaller are femto(10-15), atto(10-18), zepto(10-21), and yocto(10-24).

If you take the word nano literally then yes

What we use the term nano as is a cache smaller than a micro- usually those small magnetic things.

If you can make a cache in any of those smaller sizes I'd love to see it (and possibly buy it :ph34r: )

Sounds like the Marx brothers!

Groundspeak is having a hard enough time adding the pico size (which I consider anything smaller than a bison tube) I don't think the smaller sizes will ever show up here.

I think if there was anything smaller than a pico, I would not look for them.

OK, I get that most people generally don't like small caches. Me too. But I still ask you this. Have you seen any caches that would be smaller than a Nano? By Nano I mean the standard magnetic sized ones.

I was quite content with nano sized caches being in the same size classification as micros. I really don't understand a need for a size classification smaller than nano. I'm more than happy calling anything nano sized and smaller a nano.