My "Armchair cacher" and false logs dilemma

tvchick

I'm relatively new to geocaching (less than a year under my geobelt) and I think I've just found what the geocaching community refers to as an "armchair cachers" -- someone who logs finds online that can't be substantiated when looking at the physical log.

This completely perplexed me, because... why? I know it's just a game, but if you're not going to play by the rules, what's the point? And also, I just don't personally get what a fake logger gets out of it? So, I started reading these forums, and I calmed myself down: maybe I'll mention it to one of the CO's I'm a friend of, maybe not, maybe they'll delete the log, maybe not. Live and let live. Cache and let cache? I'm okay with that.

So here's my question for the more veteran geocachers: what do you do when that armchair cacher logs an FTF on a multiple-DNF'd newly posted cache? And the cacher immediately following that person, ostensibly the second to find, arrives to find a crisp blank log? The armchair cacher posts a note about not having a pen. Er... okay. Perplexing.

To top that, the armchair cacher logged FTF on the first hide of (I believe) another armchair cacher. Quite possibly... the same cacher, or at the very least, a friend of. Confused yet?

It's a long story, and I do have evidence for all this. I want to add that I'm not looking to "police" the area or others' geocaches. I guess I'm just curious what, if anything, cachers with far more experience than I, would do?