How many in a day?

Afterburned

:) Hello, I am new to all this, have got 12 caches already and quite enjoying it!

I live in Jersey, channel isles (roughly N 49° 14.938 W 002° 06.572 - Jersey No.1 Cache) - it is an island 9 miles by 5 miles and 190 caches! As far as I know this is quite a concentration!

My question is this: Is it possible to do 52 (new) caches in a day? I have a Saturday in a few weeks with nothing to do, family all away, no work sceduled. Should I buy a pack of cards and get on my bike? :unsure:

I managed to find 32 in about 9 hours along a rural bike trail the other day. It wasn't a "numbers run" by any means, just a good day with a lot of caches.

Plan your route well, don't spend too much time at a cache if you can't find it, and you could probably do it. Remember to have fun!

The real question is not whether you could do it (you probably could), more is it really such a good idea?

That kills off over a quarter of the caches available to you (without going off island) in just one day – four days like that and geocaching’s done for you on Jersey - and I bet you won’t enjoy the more memorable ones amongst them as much rushing about like a crazy person as you would have if you had taken them at a more relaxed pace.

I do like the 52 card drop-off idea though – maybe stamp or sticker your name on the back of each and you have a neat signature item. You don’t have to get through the whole deck in one day for it to be a cool idea (plus, as a previous poster said, not all caches will accommodate a playing card anyway)

There's a challenge in my area where if you find 100 geocaches within a day you'll win a geocoin. Pretty cool, but I timed some of my cache hunts, and it takes me about 4 hours to find 12. I'd really have to start hustling at the crack of dawn to clear 100.

I heard a rumor that someone managed over 300 in a day once. :)