Addendum to guidelines

Knight2000

I would like to ask for an addition to the geocache guidelines.

Geocaches that or disguised as or on electrical equipment should not be allowed. We should not have to search around utility meters or be prying behind fake electrical components. Anyone who know anything about electricity can vouch for how dangerous it is.

I know that geocaching can be dangerous but this could easily be avoided. This is an accident waiting to happen. I'm a relative geocaching newbie and I have found many like this.

It's not that I don't like the hides. I had bought materials to put some out myself before I really thought about it. It's just not worth it.

Do you agree?

-I see i misspelled addendum and i can't edit it. ;)

Edited by Knight2000

Geocaches that or disguised as or on electrical equipment should not be allowed. We should not have to search around utility meters or be prying behind fake electrical components. Anyone who know anything about electricity can vouch for how dangerous it is.

I know that geocaching can be dangerous but this could easily be avoided. This is an accident waiting to happen. I'm a relative geocaching newbie and I have found many like this.

It's not that I don't like the hides. I had bought materials to put some out myself before I really thought about it. It's just not worth it.

Do you agree?

I agree. Some of the best camoed caches I've found have been on electrical equipment, but they always worry me. I think this would be a good additional guideline.

Hmmm, tough call.

I have seen threads before exclaiming the dangers of altoids tins attached to ground-mounted transformers (the normal type of transformers here in AZ), but I haven't seen any mention of cachers actually being injured or killed by such a hide.

So, are you only concerned with caches that LOOK like junction boxes, disconnect switches, or weatherproof outlets...or are you concerned with hides merely attached to live electrical equipment?