First time Camo-ing a cache

This is my first time I am camo-ing a cache with out using factory made camo (camo duct tape :anibad: )

I have been planning this cache for about a month. I have planned out where to hide it, gotten an ammo can, filled it with geo-approved goodies and now just need to camo and take co-ords. I was wondering if the method I'm planning on using is good or not. Here are the supplies.

Supplies:

1 army surplus ammo box

1 hand sized rock from surrounding area

1 can of black spray paint

Method:

1.Take rock and grind it down into small chunks and powder.

2.Spray Paint ammo can black

3.Cover ammo can with rock using the paint almost like glue.

4. Shake off excess rock

Is this going to work... Tell me experienced cachers.

This is my first time I am camo-ing a cache with out using factory made camo (camo duct tape :anibad: )

I have been planning this cache for about a month. I have planned out where to hide it, gotten an ammo can, filled it with geo-approved goodies and now just need to camo and take co-ords. I was wondering if the method I'm planning on using is good or not. Here are the supplies.

Supplies:

1 army surplus ammo box

Method:

4. Shake off excess rock

I don't see why this would not work somewhat. Spray paint does stay tacky for a little while.

A layer of Goop® may work better than the paint. It gives something for the crushed rock to hang on to. I predict the crushed rock will be significantly lighter colored than the original stone. As they say, "Spot test in an inconspicuous area first".

Instead of pounding rock, let Nature do the work for you by taking a few cubic inches of dirt from the area and putting it in a pail full of water. Swish it around a bit and pour off the water while the silt and organic debris is still in suspension. Dry the remainder and that should be somewhat representative of the rock of the area.