Posting images in the found log

explosion242

I have a question about posting images in the log. I realized it is a spoiler but why does the feature exist? So many logs are difficult to sign and the feature seems very helpful but seems to be frowned upon to post images of the cache instead of signing it? Also a side note I'm an app developer and it would be extremely easy for the geocache app to only show the images to the owner of the cache so there would be no spoilers. I've been geocaching for about a year now and maybe I've not researched the topic enough but I'm hoping someone can anwer this or point to a reason why?

Thanks.
  • Funny 2
17 hours ago, explosion242 said:

Also a side note I'm an app developer and it would be extremely easy for the geocache app to only show the images to the owner of the cache so there would be no spoilers. I've been geocaching for about a year now and maybe I've not researched the topic enough but I'm hoping someone can anwer this or point to a reason why?

Many of my logs (which I post from the website, not an app), have photos attached as they form part of the story I'm telling. These are not spoilers. For example, this one of me getting up the slippery slope on our route to a cache:

9b9a7d2d-2be5-4c8a-b618-a8c0b22f7ec6.jpg?z=1704269534936

Or this one of a rock pinnacle we passed on the way to a mountain-top cache (I was so impressed by that one I went back six months later and placed a cache of my own there):

2d6a0b84-e059-4b29-9e9b-d8bd44c1be1f.jpg

It's the old adage about a picture painting a thousand words.

• Upvote 3
  • Surprised 1
  • Helpful 1