Cache care etiquette

Beyondthesolstafir

Hello all :)

Firstly I'm very new with only a few Caches under the belt but just wanted to ask some advice of cache owners please.

On my travels this far I've found a few very wet logs / full nano logs and I've felt awful fitting on a sign and then moving on. When I write up the logs I tend to make slight reference to the fact but privately message the CO to apologise for not having a spare log (been ordered) and the current situation with theirs. Ending with if I can help in any way to get in touch as I'm conscious CO may not be in area or may have many caches.

My main question is, is this best? Or do ppl tend to replace logs as they find them and send the others on?

Small caches / micro not so bad as I can always put but more paper in but nanos?

Hate to think that I'm getting a find and not caring about what I leave behind.

Would be keen to hear your thoughts.

Happy Cachin

I carry a couple sizes of log sheets printed on Rite in the Rain weatherproof paper. When the existing log has been full or unusable, I've added another log sheet. But I wouldn't remove the existing log sheet. For blinkers and small Bison tubes with no room for an additional log sheet, I fit my signature in somewhere and let the CO know that it needs a new log.

I also carry a few other repair items (e.g., O-rings in various sizes, a small roll of duct tape). I make small repairs as a favor to the cache owner, but I avoid taking over the maintenance of a cache or prolonging the death of an abandoned, neglected cache.

privately message the CO to apologise for not having a spare log (been ordered) and the current situation with theirs.