Shipping Coins From The Us To Overseas Locations

Anthus

Hello all,

I'm new to the geocoin trading frenzy, and BTW totally hooked. :antenna:

I'm seeking your advice and experience on trades made to fellow cachers / geocoin collectors not located in your country -- in particular from the US to other locations and those receiving coins from the US. My questions are as follows:

1. Do you do any special packaging for overseas trades -- i.e. extra bubble wrap?

2. Do you ship regular postal or express postal?

3. Do you go to the extent of having the package tracked or a notification that it was delivered?

4. Have you had your coins lost in the mail?

5. What are the average costs for sending a coin from the US to the UK, Canada, Germany, New Zealand, etc.?

6. What's the average delivery time?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide. If these questions have been posted before, please point me to the proper thread.

.....Anthus

I often do trades to overseas and receive such. I am located in Germany.

People sending me coins from the U.S. usually use USPS Global Priority Airmail.

Please don't use ground shipping, it saves you just a few cents but takes around 6 weeks to arrive. With USPS Global Priority Airmail coins take around 5-6 days to arrive. Tracking international shippment is very expensive and so not recommended. Nobody I know does. I have never had a delivery confirmation.

Shipping costs (only postage)

US$ 1.60 for 1 coin

US$ 2.40 for 2-3 coins

Please use the packaging described in JayBees Shipping Method (sorry, don't find the thread) It roughly says: Coins taped between thin cardboard, leave coins in original plastic sleeves, never put tape directly onto the coin, put the cardboard with the coins in it into a bubble mailer, secure the coins in the bubble mailer, so they cannot bounce and accidentally cut the bubble mailer open.