Mapping Software Queries

civilised

Hi

I’m very new to caching and GPS in general.

I got a Garmin Etrex Vista C a couple of weeks ago – I’m having great fun finding caches. But I’m interested in finding out the capabilities of my unit.

I’ve seen references on here to Memory Map and Fugawi. Can some kind person tell me the uses of this kind of mapping software? If I bought the software and the OS maps, can I upload the maps or part of them to my GPS unit? If not, what would they be used for?

I would say in advance that I’m virtually guaranteed to have further questions based on the replies I hope to receive to this – please be patient :ph34r:

And finally – I’m sorry if this should have been posted elsewhere in these forums, but I wanted a UK perspective

TIA

civilised

Welcome to our obsession/addiction/sport/game!

Sorry, the simple answer is no. You would need a PDA to use Memory Map in the field unless you want to carry a laptop around.

There has been talk of Garmin producing topographic maps but so far nothing has come of it as far as I know. Magellan does have UK topographic maps for their mapping GPSrs but from what I've seen it is not of the same detail as the OS 50,000 and 25,000 maps, both of which are on Memory Map.

Edited by John Stead

As for the differences between Fugawi and Memory Map - they are effectivly the same - giving on screen access to OS maps. The main differences are -

Memory Map available in 1:50,000 and also 1:25,000 for some parts of the country. Runs on PC and Pocket PC. Country split up in about (I forget exactly how many) eight units at about £40 each

Fugawi available in 1:50,000. Runs on PC, Pocket PC and Palm, county split into four £50 regions.

Fugawi has pricing options for half the country, or even the whole country, I guess Memory Map does the same.

It does seem that Memory Map is more popular amongst Pocket PC users.

You might also want to consider Tracklogs and Anquet.