Mapsend Or Direct Route

RatFace

I am still pretty new with my GPSr. I have a Meridian Gold but am thinking about getting more detail in my map. Is Mapsend for the trails and Direct Route for the Roads? Will either one help me get to a cache?

Also, if the Map has more detail, how will it look when I zoom out?

MapSend TOPO is the offroad/trails software. MapSend DirectRoute is the Turn-By-Turn on road routing software. MapSend Streets (SUCKS) and MapSend Streets and Destinations are the street maps but they DO NOT route turn-by-turn.

Streets and Streets & Destinations are no longer in production, AFAIK.

(The links in this post are for reference only and are NOT an endorsement of any particular company or vendor.)

FYI: Map Send TOPO does not have trail info. If it does it is usually an old railroad grade or old forestry roads. It doesn't show trails.

TOPO is most useful for the added visual reference off road. Say you're caching in a park. As soon as you leave the road or parking area, you lose all references. There is just a big blank area. TOPO gives you gradiant lines for hills and depressions, in adition to roads. Very useful, as soon as you get used to them.

Directroute has very detailed road maps. They are quite current.

I have both. However I use TOPO almost exclusively.

Mapsend Topo includes all the streets that you would see in Mapsend Streets so if you don't need auto-Routing that would be the way to go. It also displays the name of the road you are currently on and the next road you will come to so it can make traveling easier if you have some idea of which roads you need to be on.

:D