Difficulty Ratings

Thot

I’m new at this, but I have a suggestion.

There seems to be a lot of variability in how people rank the “Difficulty” factor. I suggest there be some kind of formula that takes in to account the percent of failures-to-find. I suspect many people don’t report failures, so when you see one reported there are probably several (many) more failures that weren’t reported. Being new I tend to go for the ones that are marked easy (one star) while I’m learning how to search for them. I don’t read the logs because I don’t want to run into spoilers, but I’ve started very quickly looking at the bottom of the page for purple faces.

This morning, while selecting a new cache, I did this and saw several. So, I went to the entire log listing for this one and saw many failures. I counted the finds and failures. There were 14 founds and 11 failures logged. Almost as many failures as founds and this cache is rated as easy (one star). Something’s wrong with this. One of the founds was a guy who lived nearby and had come back 5 times before finding it, and he had not recorded any of his failures. On caches that are truly easy I usually see no real failures. Sometimes they’ll have one or two with remarks like, “Too dark when we got there,” or something that says it wasn’t really a failed search. These 11 were all failed searches. A close reading of the logs suggest the coordinates are probably way off, but whatever the reason, it’s absurd to rate a cache with this ratio of failures as easy.

Below are the defs people are supposed to use. Yes they are somewhat subjective, which is why owner should follow the logs and adjust accordingly. A 1 star cache with several DNFs should adusted upward and a 3 star cache with no DNF's should be tweaked downward.

The only problem, as we've seen in other threads, is that a lot of people don't log DNF's which denies the owner the feedback needed to tweak his difficulty ratings.