Yuk, I'm not very good at this...

stevierg

So a friend told me about geocaching and I had heard about it before, but thought it was always in the mountains and there were only a few or it was a limited community. We'll he pulled out his Garmin GPS device and showed me all the locations near by and I was shocked, this is awesome!

So I pick up the iPhone app and check out around my home and there are a good bunch near by. I go to the first location and there it is right in front of me a fake ground sprinkler with a travel bug, a log book and a broken pen. I put it all back and will go back again with a pen to sign the log book and possible take the travel bug to a new location.

So here I am super excited and tonight in the pouring rain I decide to check out a 4 locations. The first one was a disaster, I was drenched in the rain and covered with crap from the bushes and no luck finding it. I think I saw it just before I left, but there was a cobweb that could hold a bird so I thought I would leave it be... not good with insects.

The second cache I looked for was in a park, I didn't realize that the park was surrounded by a forest and that the cache is in there somewhere. After almost slipping to my death down a muddy wet path on a steep gradient hill in the woods I head back defeated. My iPhone kept giving me different directions and as soon as I got to one place it pointed 20 feet behind me. I had no luck at all.

The third cache was supposed to be behind a statue under a pillar or something, I had a read of the hint and everything, but no luck either, in fairness the rain was pretty heavy now and I was getting really wet.

The last one I checked for was what I thought to be the easiest, but in the exact location I just could not find the cache even though I was pretty sure I knew where it was exactly based on the hint.

So hear I am, day 2 of my life geocaching and I all got was muddy pants and a wet hoody...

Defeated but not deterred. :ph34r: