gas...

fendermallot

I'm no expert, but I did take the H & R Block class on tax law. Your wife can take a tax deduction for travel to and from the homes outside her office. I guess if you ride along and jump out when you are near a cache that could be counted, but I don't think taking detours for your caching adventures is going to count. Sorry.

The IRS has no sense of humor.

:unsure:

My wife just informed me that if we GC during the week we get to write the mileage off due to her being a caregiver! Can't ask for much more! I get to geocache and get the money back at the end of the year =P

I am, in fact, a lawyer. Do not screw around with the IRS. Seriously. If you are tagging along to help her drive and then drive over to a nearby park to cache while she does her thing, fine. Make a note of what miles got you to her work location and make another note of miles driven to cache. If you are going to go jam along on a hundred mile geocaching trip, don't do it.

I am all for getting the maximum number of deductions you can, but a harsh look from the IRS will cost you $5K in lawyers fees to get that stuff straightened out. Don't go there.

I work at a group home for the mentally ill and not only is geocaching not discouraged on the job, it is totally encouraged. I find a park with some caches and my clients and I hop in the company van for an outing to the park. It gets the clients out of the house, gives them some exercise, and helps orient them to their city. Finding a couple caches while doing it is the cherry on the top. A win win situation if there ever was one. :unsure: