Garmin Map Questions

Just got my Legend HCX and trying to get the basics and understand the mapping usage. I'm an engineer and this is confusing...

I haven't bought the Navigator and Topo DVDs yet so I'm testing w/ some IMGs I found online. Tried downloading the IMGs with img2gps but couldn't get it to work on my Mac running Parallels. Seems to have sent out the maps but didn't show up on the Legend. So I used cgsmapper and MapSetTookit to translate them into MapSource readable files. Now they're loaded in my GPS. They're not detailed as street maps, but the Yosemite park map is pretty decent.

1) Mapsets. Can you only load 1 mapset at a time? I was trying to create different mapsets, say one for local roads, then one for Nat'l parks. I put one one first. I assumed loading a 2nd set would just add more maps but it just replaced what was there previously.

2) The Legend has a basemap loaded. If I load a map, does is overlay the basemap or does it replace it?

3) If I buy both the Nagivator and Topo DVDs and use a 2 GB card, will I be able to load both onto the card? How would I do that?

Thanks from the newbie.

I haven't done this yet, and I am sure others will respond who know a bunch more than me.....

BUT

1. I have heard people say that you have to load stuff all at once, because each time you load something new it does replace the old (as you found out). So I THINK the trick is loading it all at once - not sure how though, as I haven't done it yet.

2. No clue - I loaded some old Mapsource maps on mine, but I am not sure how to tell whether it replaced or added to the stock maps....

3. I have heard others say that you can load both mapsets on a 2GB card - not sure how though.

1) Mapsets. Can you only load 1 mapset at a time? I was trying to create different mapsets, say one for local roads, then one for Nat'l parks. I put one one first. I assumed loading a 2nd set would just add more maps but it just replaced what was there previously.