So What Part Of Your Meridian Are You Using?

I'm not sure I really understand what you're asking but I'll try to answer. When I'm far away, I'll have a zoom out resolution of no more than 0.4 miles so I can still see the streets I need to navigate to my target. Zooming in closer as needed. Once I'm walking, I'll keep it at 250-500' until I'm within about 200 feet, then I'll zoom it to 100' level. Depending on how tough the hide might be, I'll switch to my floating compass to get a better bearing of it's location. Once you're within 20' of it though, all bets are off as the GPS will have you walking in circles if you follow the compass too much. Set it down and let it average and just start a low impact search. You can usually turn it up if you keep sleuthing it.

That's is what I am confused on but you cleared some stuff up. I have like 9 different screens and wasn't sure which to use. I am still learning though so the more I read and do I should improve.

Most of those other screens are informational. Being that you recently started this sport, you might want to start with easy ratings; nothing more than 2 stars just to get your feet wet and allow you to figure out what you're doing with your device. You'll gain better confidence this way.

Also, check the version firmware, and see if you need to upgrade. Magellan has 5.12 out for the MeriPlat now, but be sure to follow the instructions! It is critical you do the upgrade the right way or you could hose your unit. It isn't as difficult as this warning makes it appear, but you have to be aware of the hazard.

Last summer I wrote up my settings in this post. I tried to provide my reasoning why I included or excluded various information or settings. You might find it useful for getting oriented on your Meridian.

You're probably best off starting with a few essential screens, getting comfortable with those, and then adding others on if you find them useful.