Garmin Ique 3600

Gil52

Hello Folks,

I am completely new to Geocaching and I would like some help here if possilbe.

I have recently purchased a Garmin Ique 3600 Palm Pilot/ GPS combination and have downloaded GeoNIche into it but cannot seem to get it to activate.

I guess my questions are:

Has anybody out there used the Garmin Ique for geocaching

and what sofware are you using if not GeoNIche.

Until I can get my unit to work with Geoniche or whatever I have not started on first hunt yet.

Many thanks in advance

Gilbert Nelson

Not an expert on the subject but noticed no one was answering your question. I to have the iQue 3600 but only plan on using it to bring me to the parking lot. Then I will use my 76S or MAP 330 to find the cache. The iQue is not the best for Geocaching but can be used as a "stand alone" device. Put it on "off road" and practice going to a spot in your lawn or in a park. Watch the distance on the top of the map and get it down to as low as possible and then look for the cache. It is a great unit but not that user friendly for a first time GPS. Feel free to e-mail me if you have any other questions. I am trying to learn about it myself. Dick W7WT

I use a Garmin Ique 3600 and use the Track feature. The orientation plus the distance to the cache is all you need to zero in on a cache. I find it to be extremely accurate and once it locks onto satellites it just does not want to let go. I even use it in the car resting on my console and it very rarely loses reception and if so regains it quickly. I travel quite a bit and rent various make of cars. I am not familiar with the software you are trying to use with it but Garmin's FAQs state that at present there is no capability for the 3600 to have dialogue with a PC. This is unfortunate because entering waypoints manually can be a pain.