Paper Logs inside caches

BinaryBlues

I'm new to Geocaching and I don’t yet fully understand the concept of the paper logs within the caches. I’ve found a cache yesterday in which the paper log was really a series of crumpled 3-inch pages. I started to unfold them all, organize chronologically, and then refold them, but I gave up halfway through. Considering the maintenance required on the paper logs contained within each cache and the “real” logs we post onto the Geocaching website where we can also add a story to the log, what is the real purpose of the paper? What do cache owners do with the paper logs once they are filled?

I’m considering added a cache of my own soon in a place that I find interesting and beautiful. Do I consider the paper log sort of like a trophy list or do Cache owners toss them anyway? Some insight would help me. Thanks.

The purpose of the log is for cachers to prove they were physically at the cache. As for what to do with them when they're filled up, it's really up to the cache owner. In theory the CO should audit the online logs with the logbook. Some do that and delete the "fake" finds. Some scan the logbooks and post the pictures on the cache page. Others do nothing with them and just throw them out.

Edited by Mr. 0

I'm new to Geocaching and I don't yet fully understand the concept of the paper logs within the caches. I've found a cache yesterday in which the paper log was really a series of crumpled 3-inch pages. I started to unfold them all, organize chronologically, and then refold them, but I gave up halfway through. Considering the maintenance required on the paper logs contained within each cache and the "real" logs we post onto the Geocaching website where we can also add a story to the log, what is the real purpose of the paper? What do cache owners do with the paper logs once they are filled?