Cub Scouts and Geocaching

asbeach

Hi all!,

I am a Den Leader for a group of Cub Scouts, and I want to take the boys on a Geocach hunt. I am new to this, but have heard of it before and have wanted to try it, so when we were looking for another activity for the boys, I thought this would be perfect. The problem is, I would like a hike that is doable for a group of 20 boys and their parents. Somthing that is a bit of a challange without killing them, about an hour to an hour and a half long from start to finish. The boys range in age from 7 to 9. Also it would be cool if the cache was big enough for us to leave somthing in trade. We live in El Cajon, zip code 92021, but are not adverse to driving a bit to find a good hike. I see so many caches in our area, but am not sure which ones fit my requirements. Thank you so much for any advice.

Andrea

thebeachfaily@cox.net

If you become a premium member you can run a pocket query for a specific type of cache in the area you would like to search for like all diff 1-2 with a terr of 1-3. You would also need to open this PQ in another software program like GSAK, or if you could use Mapsource if you have have a Garmin GPS that came with that software. You could then plot your course to find the easier caches along your hike.

To follow up on what ao318 said, a 1-month Premium Membership costs a grand total of $3.

Except that you'll probably get hooked on the premium features and go for the $30/year option after a couple of months.