Are There Any Problems With My New 60cs?

I’m a newbie of gps, and got garmin gpsmap 60cs yesterday, but I found many problems. For example, I turn on the gps then change to map page, the screen shows “drawing” and stopped, not shut down (happened about 3 times). No button press or release is valid except turn it off. Also, when I doing some operation, the screen shows “load loading” and stopped. So I had to turn it off again (happened for two times). At last, it stopped at random (especially when drawing); the only way is turn it off…

Anyone met the same problems with me? Or I did invalid operation? My software version is 3.80.

You should have read the manual and did a complete prefernce set-up inside out of Sat range before initializing for the 1st time (like WAAS, battery type, battery mode, units of measure, date and time, etc.). The 1st initialization should have been letting the unit sit outside in a clear area for about 30 minutes for a full almanac load. The GPS has to learn where it is located.

Never-the -less ..... When you turn it on you should wait until the Sats get a lock (wait for the 3-D logo is what I do) before you go paging around. This can take 2 - 10 minutes depending on area and Sat reception. This is not an instant on device. You have a really powerful device with lots of bells and whistles. Let it initialize and see if the problems you indicated still occur. We will be glad to help you with any problems. :laughing: ImpalaBob

http://forums.Groundspeak.com/GC/index.php...ic=72160&st=850

ia a good link to look through

Edited by ImpalaBob

Your maps should draw very quickly. Doesn't sound normal. As Impala Bob said, let it initialize. Bring it to a spot with a clear view of the sky (a local ballfield is often a good spot), turn it on and let it sit about 5-10 minutes.

If you are still encountering the problem you may have a defective unit. Take it back and exchange it.