What should I get???

kd5tqe

Hi. I am new to this, and don't have a clue on what to buy. I want a system that is handheld and can produce pretty detailed maps. I would also like it to where I can type in the coordinates in and it will show me where it is, etc. It can't be over $300. That's too pricy. Please help!!! icon_rolleyes.gificon_eek.gificon_confused.gif

I myself am pretty new to the geocaching sceen, but I love my Sportrak Pro. I use MapSend Topo and the maps are pretty good. (although I really haven't used many different programs) It's easy to use and easy to learn, I self taught the software and the GPS in just a couple hours to find my first 2 caches. Well good luck and welcome.

texasgeocaching_sm.gif

Hi there! I'm sure the old fogies get tired of these basic questions and so as a newbie myself that just got a GPSr last week and have logged a few finds, I'll give ya my rundown.

First, you might want to browse through GPS Units and Software as those topics have plenty of opinions on what is the best value for your money.

After doing a lot of research myself on these forums I decided to get a Magellan Meridian GPS. It is a very reliable unit and so far hasn't steared me wrong (pun intended) and it can be found on ebay for between $100 - $140. Also it's just a very nice looking gadget.

Streetmaps and especially maps that would be useful for Geocaching, such as Mapsend TOPO will cost another $50 -$70. And then the SD memory card will cost another bit of money depending on how much memory you want. If you want to have a whole state's worth of topography and city streets I'm guessing you'll want at least a 64 meg memory card.

It's very possible you can find a package deal on a full set of this hardware and software either on ebay or elsewhere or even on these boards at GPS Garage Sale. I've heard several recommendations to look at Frye's Electronics as they tend to put their GPSrs on sale every couple of months.