best way to put geocaches on my new garmin montana 650

jocko126

Hi all.

I just purchased a garmin 650. It seems to be a great unit, but i'm still learning the ropes. I have calibrated the screen and the compass and I figured out how to load pocket queries. I don't have any maps yet. I was thinking about getting a sub to birdseye and i wanted some kind of street navagation maps but really dont know what maps I need to buy. I live in town, so I do in town catching as well as out in country catching. I also go hunting and fishing. I would love to find maps of all of usa. Back on point. lol. i read somewhere that i can only load 12000 caches to my montana. I live in Ohio and there are a lot more than 12k catches here.I would like input on the best way to maximize the whole state to make pocket queries so i have a bunch of catches all around me. Also if anyone has any ideas on the type of maps I need that would be great. This is my first gps unit. I always did my caching from my phone up till now. Thanks for any help I get and any tips would be great.

thanks again

jocko126

Three recommendations:

Download and install Garmin's Basecamp from the support area of Garmin's web site. You'll need this to install maps from the next steps to your Montana.

Visit OpenStreetMaps and download an Open Street Map for your state or regional area. These are routable street maps and when set to the Automobile navigation mode, will provide turn by turn directions.

Then visit GPS File Depot to download topographical maps for your state and surrounding states.

Once downloaded, use Basecamp to install the maps to your Montana. You'll be able to switch from street maps to topo maps in the field, depending on your needs and where you are geocaching at the time.

thanks for the fast replys.

Atlas Cached- yes it's a montana 650