iPhone 5 with Commander Compass Lite vs Garmin

I'm new to the geocaching thing, but thought I'd give it a try over the weekend. I had some success using my iPhone 5 with this free app called Commander Compass Lite. I had a lot of fun and am thinking of getting a dedicated handheld unit, like a Garmin. However, I'm just not really sure it's worth it. A middle-of-the-road Garmin is pretty pricey and then after all that, from what I read, the basic map sucks. Also, recharging AA batteries all the time seems like a pain.

On the other hand, my iPhone has many maps, including really nice satellite imagery (which of course is extra on the Garmin), it has a great touch screen, the Commander app has a 3-axis compass, and accuracy seems fine (although I'm not out in the middle of nowhere). It's very easy to charge and there's no fooling around with batteries. There are a few downsides, such as battery life, but otherwise, it works like a charm. Now, if only I could make it repel mosquitoes!

So, am I missing something? My iPhone was free from work, the app is free, and even if I decide to buy the official geocaching app, I'm only out 10 bucks. It seems really hard to justify the cost of a Garmin + maps + batteries + all the other extras.

Depends on where you go. I am sometimes hiking or biking for 6+ hours. Cell batteries don't last that long. Also if you drop it on the trail how rugged is it? Sometimes I am in a no cell zone which means if I haven't downloaded the caches and maps I am out of luck.

There are a pretty good amount of people who are phone only. I know a couple TeamBNE who are in the thousands using a pair of iPhones.

I also have a problem seeing the screen when I have sunglasses on and they are terrible to see when the sun is on the screen.

If it works for you then you don't need a handheld.

'Tis a hard decision... really, it can be.