Vegas cachers? Halp!

cruelkitti

I'll be visiting Vegas (road-tripping there from Ohio) in a couple weeks to visit my family. Both sides of my family live there, including my parents, whom I haven't seen in 15+ years. I will only be there for 12 days, and will be spending all of my time with family, however, we have planned to spend one day, kid-free, to be tourists and explore. I've been to Vegas many times, but my fiance hasn't left the East side of the U.S and has never seen a real mountain, the desert or anything like it at all. I've researched some caches hidden in nearby Mountains (we'll be staying on E. Tropicana Ave)and would LOVE to hike up to a few. They all look so amazing, but we'll only have time for a few at most, if they're close enough together. Any suggestions? Keep in mind that I'm a photographer as well and would find as much value in the scenery and surroundings as I would the cache itself. I don't really want to do Mt. Charleston because I've been there a few times and want something brand-new to discover. Plus...I hear there's a raging fire going on there now. =( I realize this is a long shot, but any help would be incredibly appreciated.

ps, we do plan to visit Death Valley and some caches there as well, so you can exclude that from any suggestions. =)

I been there as a cacher...

Here is what I like...

http://coord.info/GCQ596 One of the kind cache, you will never see another one like this. Period.

http://coord.info/GC18FMD A very nice earthcache. I really love the area.

And any of MR57 caches. :)

When I was there, it was during the summer and Mt. Charleston is the best place to go in my opinion. Its nice and cool there.

Sugar Dugar

is one of my favorites in Red Rocks Canyon Conservation Area. It is a loop drive that costs $7 but you will be glad you did it. Scenery that will look like an alien planet to someone from the east and plenty of great caches...