Caching on motorcycles

I started riding a motorcycle in the past year (a 2012 VStar 950 Tourer) and my Wife and I have incorporated our rides with caching. Does anyone else ride and cache? Looking for tips, hints and anything related to combining the two hobbies. We really love caches in Cemeteries how 'bout you?

Edited by medic161

I cache from a KLR-650 dual sport. It is great for zipping about, getting in and out of tight spots, great fuel mileage, etc. one thing I find difficult is to read my Oregon while driving. I clip it to my starboard mirror, and it hangs down over my cut off switch. The face points slightly downward, making it impossible for me to read without releasing the throttle and tilting it up. A tool I think would come in handy for me would be some sort of Tom Tom or Nuvi like GPS receiver, which I could mount on my windscreen. Other obvious issues involve how much stuff I can carry, and inclement weather, which I deal with as needed.

I started riding a motorcycle in the past year (a 2012 VStar 950 Tourer) and my Wife and I have incorporated our rides with caching. Does anyone else ride and cache? Looking for tips, hints and anything related to combining the two hobbies. We really love caches in Cemeteries how 'bout you?

I Don't know what your VStar weighs but my Harley Electrglide goes about 900 pounds and gets a little tricky when parking in gravel. I use a hard plastic kickstand plate that keeps the bike stand from digging into the gravel and possibly falling over. Other than that we love caching on the Harley. My lady carries the Etrex 20 and gives my directions to the next cache. Drive safe.

I used a tank bag with a transparent top and manage to keep the GPS under my nose using the clutter I usually carry around (change of clothes, some food, and so on).

As for cemetery caches, I respect the dead too much to go play in their last home -_-

Using a Ram mount, a Nuvi 660 sits on the handlebar right in front on my Harley.