How to get coordinates to stash a cache?

WinnetouGp

I am a newbie! please forgive any mistakes that i am about to make!

We would like to place a cache (only fair if we look for them) its all ready to go apart from its actual location.

We have found a hiding place but don't know how to find this location's coordinates? We have an iphone with Google Earth, Tom's GPS, Coordinates, Google Maps and the Geocache app.

Is it possible to use any of these apps to produce reasonable coordinates for the cache or are we needing something with a little bit more umph?

I have tried this afternoon without much luck - the closest I get to the spot is about 200yds!

You need to be able to read the coordinates on your iPhone. The guidelines require the use of a GPS to read the coordinates, so using maps don't cut it. As a side note, unless you have a 4G iPhone the coordinates can be really horrible. Can you borrow a GPS? Even the old yellow eTrex's were pretty good.

I was using a smartphone in the beginning but have just bought a Garmin Etrex 20 GPS which is fantastic for

Geocaching.

I am also about to hide my first cache and find it very easy with the Etrex 20 to get the coordinates of my position.

I just need to find a good location to hide the cache ;)

If you are into geocaching and looking at hiding a few caches then you should invest in a handheld GPS.

Sorry i cant actually help you with your question but if you do place the cache and get the coordinates with your iPhone they might not be very accurate.

You could always ask the first cacher that finds it with a proper GPS to tell you its exact coordinates and then update the cache page with them.

Edited by Lowther Gang