Good Dehydrator?

elmuyloco5

I've used the ronco model a few times but for ease I just use the oven, set it to the lowest temperature (check with a digital probe) and crack the door to regulate the heat.

mmmmm pear/apple leather, good stuff - old school fruit wraps, looks nasty but tastes great. In the fall dried apples fresh from the stand in the oven smell great, kids love them, heavy on the fiber so watch yourself :(

get a cooling rack and place your goodies on them and you are good to go

Edited by bogleman

I have no experience with it but I noticed this Nesco has a lot of very good reviews.

That's the model I've been looking at. They have it on sale at Cabelas.

I would prefer not to use the oven as it heats up the house so much, and it also takes up the oven when I need to cook. I bake our own breads and stuff, so it's usually pretty busy anyway.

We love jerky and have been considering a dehydrator for awhile. Now the kids are old enough to really start backcountry camping and we thought it would be a good way to cut down on some weight in our packs. We're already going to have to carry two tents as there's 5 of us, and we may end up carrying alot of our youngest's items as he's only 6. I know food isn't the area that's going to save us alot in weight, but every bit helps in the overall picture.

I have no experience with it but I noticed this Nesco has a lot of very good reviews.

That's the model I've been looking at. They have it on sale at Cabelas.

I would prefer not to use the oven as it heats up the house so much, and it also takes up the oven when I need to cook. I bake our own breads and stuff, so it's usually pretty busy anyway.