New To Caching

bearlookin4cache

I am new to this exciting hobby. I've been looking and reviewing the gps units on ebay this morning. I wanted to know how to track down a cache without a unit with just the numbersuntil I purchase one. When I look at a profile it will give u the numbers like the N and the W is that the Long and the Latt? I am new to this. Do u input the numbers into a map onto the computer somewhere? Thanks for all the input and the advice you can give to me. It sounds like a very fun hobby and sport!! Have a safe and fun summer!! Take Care...Jen

Well, it is possible to find caches without the help of a gpsr, however it is generally more difficult. Since you are new to geocaching, as well as orienteering and land navigation, you may want to start with an easy one, say in a park or in an urban area. Trekking through the woods without a gpsr in search of a cache is not recommended unless you are good with a map and a compass.

When you look at the cache description there will be a map on the right hand side. When you click on it, it will come up in mapquest. You can them zoom in on the location. This will give you its location in terms of streets and roads, and maybe even landmarks such as parks and creeks/rivers. I would print out a map to bring with you, as this will get you in the right general area.

Now for the information you were really asking for:

You’ll need a good topo or grid map (which will have lat and long on it) and a compass. You can mark the exact lat and long on the map while at home. Drive to the location and then use the map and compass to get to the exact location. To do this you will need to establish a starting point at a known location on the map and use a compass direction and pacing to get to the cache location.

This is just a general description of what is involved. I’m not that familiar with orienteering, myself. But there are some websites that may help.

http://www.geocities.com/Yosemite/Falls/92...ographic%20Maps