500/1000 Waypoint Built In Memory Standard?

Milbank

Why is it that most hand held GPS units only hold 500 or 1000 waypoints on there built in memory?

I would think with memory being so cheap and the size of it being so small it would be nothing for manufactures to have a 5000 or 10,000 built in waypoint memory.

My 1000 waypoint memory if filling up fast on my Legend (use it for work too) so I'm started to look for a replacement GPS.

My new unit must be color (why not :laughing: ) and must hold more then 1000 waypoint.

I would also like to keep it small like the Legend.

I don't want to use a palm/cable and gps as it's to much to cary around everyday at work.

I have found very few options and one options I'm looking at is the Explorist 500 and 600.

Are there any other current or future hand held gps units that will fit my needs?

Wow...I have been selling these things for 6 years now and teaching GPS navigation for 4 years. You are the first person I have came across who thought 1000 waypoints was too little! :laughing: How do you manage them? I am curious. Doesn't it become a real burden trying to sort them out on your GPSR? I find I hate it when I get more than about 20-50 on my unit! I keep all the others on my PC until I need them. Anyway, I am not familiar with any models that do more. They might be out there, but they are not mainstream models. Good luck. Alphawolf out.

How do you manage them?

Like I said I use my gps for work.

My waypoints are peoples last names.

I use the "find" button on my legend and search for the waypoint that way.

For example if the person I'm looking for is Anderson I click the find button, click on the A then N.

My list of waypoints then go to all the ones starting with An so I just scroll down the list to find Anderson.

Doesn't it become a real burden trying to sort them out on your GPSR?

No, the find button makes it really fast to find a waypoint I have stored.

Edited by Milbank

To Alphawolf: