North Reference

Hi all, I am pretty new to this and I did a recent cache hunt where the owner of the cache said to set the GPSr to a magnetic north in order to find his cache. It was a multi-cache. I always have my GPSr set this way. Am I wrong in using it this way? Should I be hunting for caches using true north? I use a Meridian Platinum and I haven't had any problems to speak of locating caches.

It can depend on where you live. In the West the difference between true and magnetic north could be significant - it's 10-13 degrees difference here in N.M. In Arkansas, as I recall, the difference was only 4-5 degrees - probably un-noticable, especially for short distances.

Generally, you should use True North. That's the way most maps are set, including USGS topo maps.

For simple Geocaching where you're looking for Longitude/Latitude coodinates, it won't matter at all. If you're following instructions that specify "True" or "Magnetic," that's what you should use.

Best Wishes,

Bob

PS I believe is refering to a separate backup compass. Since your Platinum has a built-in magnetic compass, the unit automatically corrects for the declination whe you set it for True North reagrdless of where in the world you are (at least I believe it would if it's the same as my Garmin Vista).

Hi all, I am pretty new to this and I did a recent cache hunt where the owner of the cache said to set the GPSr to a magnetic north in order to find his cache. It was a multi-cache. I always have my GPSr set this way. Am I wrong in using it this way? Should I be hunting for caches using true north? I use a Meridian Platinum and I haven't had any problems to speak of locating caches.