archaeological (and geological) typesites

As you maybe know, I'm a professional archaeologist. In my trade we tend to take certain place names of archeological cultures and material traditions from the first well-published typesite location. This can be a town (Swifterbant-cultuur, Acheuleen after Saint-Acheul), a specific place (Mousterien after Le Moustier) (Hallstatt-culture after the Hallstatt saltmine). The habit is taken from geology, and in geology you have likewise names such as the Eemien (after the river Eem), Formatie van Maastricht, etc. I'm less at home with the geological side of this proposed category idea.

I think it would be a cool idea to make a collection of these typesites and link a certain location to a certain archeological culture or material tradition or geological formation. It should obivously be a well-defined region or site, a whole region or country does not qualify. I think a waymarker in this idea has to make a photo of the welcome sign of a certain place and make a good desciption about the archeological or geological namesake. If a specific typesite such as an archaeological site can be reached or defined, photos of this site should be preferable. What do you all think of the idea?

• Funny 1
  • Surprised 1

Well, Ivo, judging by the complete and utter lack of response to date, I am about to go out on a limb and suggest that others in the community are at as complete a loss as myself with regard to what, exactly, it is that you propose here.

Not being a member of the geological profession, I have no idea what might constitute a "typesite location", nor am I familiar with "archeological culture", or even what might lead to a "material tradition", though I will admit that a "geological formation" has been within my vocabulary for eons.