How do I find new coordinates after I've figured them out?

LawDog_Gav

Hey guys :) I'm new to GCing (2 finds, started the Friday just passed) and I'm working on a new find which is a bit more challenging than my last two. For it, I had to figure out some questions to which the answers corresponded to numbers. From these numbers, I had to do some maths work in order to ultimately get the coordinates. So now I have them (I think) but I'm not sure how to find the updated coordinates. I have the c:geo app and the official app but neither of these seem to have a way to locate the new coordinates on a map. I've also tried looking for something on the internet that could do it to no avail. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

On the Official GS app -- project a waypoint associated with this cache. It allows for entry of those coordinates that you calculated.

Here are the app directions for use from the GS Help Center: http://support.Groundspeak.com/index.php?pg=kb.book&id=12

As you did not say which system (Apple or Android), you'll have to pick which one.

I presume that the "other" app you named also will project a waypoint. I dunno, 'cuz it is not Groundspeak approved.

EDIT to add: Just in case -- this is applicable only to the full (paid) Official GS app. If you have the Intro-app (free), it will not work.

The Intro-app is designed to provide only "beginner" cache data. A multi Cache is not considered "beginner" -- therefore, you cannot project waypoints with it.

Edited by Gitchee-Gummee

Another option...

(Depending on which app)

On the cache page, there's a little pencil after the coordinates, which allow you to "Correct these coordinates"

If you put your new coordinates in there, a new waypoint will be added to the cache info you recieve, which will allow you to look for the cache at the new coordinates. :)

Edited by Bear and Ragged