New to the hobby

redoak1953

Hi, I am new to the hobby and have been introduced by a local Geo-cache trail in Martinsburg-Berkeley County WV, (Gadgets of Berkeley County"). The trail guide from the Convention Bureau lists the latitude and longitude of the caches as well as other info and clues. I have not seen any on this site that do that. Am I over looking a feature that enables that or are they usually not marked that way? Any helpful hints would be greatly appreciated. I like messing with topos etc. and enjoyed the preliminary work to mark maps before going out on the local trail, it has been a fun run so far and I can't wait to hit the trails near where we have camped for 7 years and never knew there were hundreds near there! Thanks, Jeff

It looks like you have found your way into the forums without logging a cache on the site yet, impressive!

I don't know if the caches that you found via the convention center are on this site.

Geocaching101 is a great place to start.

If you like maps and are good with a map and compass you can certainly do all your caching that way, my land nav skills are good but I much prefer my GPS for caching and my maps for navigating to the general area.

So, how far have you made it in learning to geocache? Do you know how to find caches near you?

You need to be logged in at the geocaching site in order to view coordinates of caches. My bet is you were logged out after a visit and just need to log in again.

Ooooo, good point. The things you forget when you have "remember me" ticked on important sites like geocaching.

Edit because ooooo =\= pool even if autocorrect thinks it does.

Edited by MooseJawSpruce