Montana 600 or Oregon 600: Multiple maps

My situation: I have been using a Etrex Legend HCx for 5 years. And it still works for me. It's not fully paperless, but I use GSAK to get as much information as I can on to the unit. I supplement that sometimes with paper, and now I also have an iPhone. Due to lack of data signal many places I walk I don't like to rely on the iPhone having a connection, but I do download PQs onto it so I can access the full cache information in the field. I also prefer not to use the iPhone as my main GPS mainly due to battery life, and I also find I seem to do better finding caches with the GPS. I'll use the iPhone for the occasional adhoc find when I don't have my GPS with me or caches loaded for the area.

Anyway - my wife suggested maybe I would like to upgrade my GPS for Christmas... and I like the thought of that. I am looking for a unit where I can be fully paperless (so not need to worry about downloading PQs to the phone as well).

I'm looking at the Montana 600 and Oregon 600. Functionally they seem similar; the main differences I see is the Montana has a larger screen (but is bigger/heavier), and the Oregon supports GLONASS. I think the choice between the two will come down to how I feel about carrying them and the screen size.

Ok... so here is my dumb question. With my Legend HCx, the only way I know of to install maps is to copy a file with a specific name (gmapsupp.img). At least as far as I know I can only have one map "active" at a time. (I can store more maps on the SD card, but only the one named gmapsupp.img is active).

I find the manuals of the Montana and Oregon a bit confusing, but it appears they support multiple maps at the same time. This is what I would like to understand better. I.e - could I use a map optimized for road routing to get to the parking location, then switch to a topo map to hike to the cache, and how easy is this to do?