Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 2
lathenkel

Cannot get past "you need the communicator plug in"

Recommended Posts

Not sure what the issue is, but I cannot load a cache to my Garmin 450 Oregon. When I select "write to my GPS" I get a popup that says: "Either the GPS does not support the items or Garmin Communicator Plugin needs to be updated." The communicator is already updated, but to be sure, I switched PC's, reinstalled the various software for the device so it would work on the PC, updated the communicator plug in, and even tried using Chrome instead of Explorer, and still -- I keep getting this message. Yikes! It is a beautiful day and we'd love to geocache ... Any ideas? :(

Share this post


Link to post

Not sure what the issue is, but I cannot load a cache to my Garmin 450 Oregon. When I select "write to my GPS" I get a popup that says: "Either the GPS does not support the items or Garmin Communicator Plugin needs to be updated." The communicator is already updated, but to be sure, I switched PC's, reinstalled the various software for the device so it would work on the PC, updated the communicator plug in, and even tried using Chrome instead of Explorer, and still -- I keep getting this message. Yikes! It is a beautiful day and we'd love to geocache ... Any ideas? :(

Share this post


Link to post

Ideas?

Yes. Use Pocket Queries, and copy/paste the PQ direct to the GPS.

http://www.follow-the-arrow.co.uk/resources/files/paperless_garmin.pdf

 

Thanks. I'll try that. It is a puzzle though, because we've had this Garmin several months and didn't have this problem in the early months with it -- only more recently. Do you know why the click and go option doesn't work anymore? We are not very tech oriented, so it was wonderful just to be able to click on the Save to my GPS and head out the front door. Again - thank you for the idea and the link to the PDF.

Share this post


Link to post

In your profile settings make sure that you have the proper version, GPX 1.0 or 1.0.1, selected. It's been a while, but I seem to recall having an issue with this; but mine may have been different symptoms. Anyway, it's worth checking.

Share this post


Link to post

In your profile settings make sure that you have the proper version, GPX 1.0 or 1.0.1, selected. It's been a while, but I seem to recall having an issue with this; but mine may have been different symptoms. Anyway, it's worth checking.

To clarify this post, for use with an Oregon, you need this set to 1.0, not 1.0.1.

Share this post


Link to post

I'll just copy ad paste what Iwrote on this topic in a different thread yesterday:

 

Usually, it's an issue with the URL.

The plugin is dependent on the URL that was registered for it.

What do you see in the url? https://www.geocaching.com or just www.geocaching.com?

If you see https://..., that's the issue.

Remove the https:// and then hit enter.

You should now see only www.geocaching.com and it should work.

It seems a though Groundspeak didn't register the https://-URL for the plugin.

Share this post


Link to post

That looks like a good fix, but if you still have problems you might try contacting Garmin directly. There could be a problem with your GPS. Contact them soon in case it's under warranty.

Garmin is really great about helping out on the phone. They have great customer service. They once spent 45 minutes on the phone with me to try to fix my GPS. They could have just told me to send the old unit in for repair, but instead they spent a lot of time trying to fix it for free. I was impressed.

 

I just went to google the number for you and found this:

Garmin "just answer"

 

It seems to be a Garmin site set up to answer questions. They say they have technicians online that answer immediately. When I found it it said there were 7 technicians online. It sounds worth a try.

Share this post


Link to post

The first time I tried to send waypoints directly to our new Montana, I got this error. Turns out there was a firmware update to the GPSr. Might want to check the Garmin site and see if the Oregon firmware has been updated.

Share this post


Link to post

In your profile settings make sure that you have the proper version, GPX 1.0 or 1.0.1, selected. It's been a while, but I seem to recall having an issue with this; but mine may have been different symptoms. Anyway, it's worth checking.

To clarify this post, for use with an Oregon, you need this set to 1.0, not 1.0.1.

Share this post


Link to post

Thanks - I'll check the setting. I'm pretty sure it was set there already b/c another post recommended changing it to GPX 1.0.1 to use with Pocket Queries. Pocket queries is not what I want to do though... want to just click "send to my GPS." Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post

That looks like a good fix, but if you still have problems you might try contacting Garmin directly. There could be a problem with your GPS. Contact them soon in case it's under warranty.

Garmin is really great about helping out on the phone. They have great customer service. They once spent 45 minutes on the phone with me to try to fix my GPS. They could have just told me to send the old unit in for repair, but instead they spent a lot of time trying to fix it for free. I was impressed.

 

I just went to google the number for you and found this:

Garmin "just answer"

 

It seems to be a Garmin site set up to answer questions. They say they have technicians online that answer immediately. When I found it it said there were 7 technicians online. It sounds worth a try.

Share this post


Link to post

I think I may have to call Garmin. I checked the URL thing - it was not showing httpS so that's not the problem....and I've reset profile to GPX 1.0 and still get the the popup. Thanks very much for the link to Garmin and the encouragement. Was a rainy weekend here for GC, so hope to remedy by next sunny day! -A.

Share this post


Link to post

I think I may have to call Garmin. I checked the URL thing - it was not showing httpS so that's not the problem....and I've reset profile to GPX 1.0 and still get the the popup. Thanks very much for the link to Garmin and the encouragement. Was a rainy weekend here for GC, so hope to remedy by next sunny day! -A.

 

Have you tried a different USB cable?

Share this post


Link to post

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 2

×
×
  • Create New...