Earthcache type

terratin

I was just wondering why earthcaches became a seperate geocache type.

I know it's different from Virtuals in the sense of the educational part (though there are a number of virtual -and other- caches with educational content) and the USGS involvement, but why geology related caches as a seperate type and not f.i. archaeology/history?

Mr. Terratin

I was just wondering why earthcaches became a seperate geocache type.

I know it's different from Virtuals in the sense of the educational part (though there are a number of virtual -and other- caches with educational content) and the USGS involvement, but why geology related caches as a seperate type and not f.i. archaeology/history?

Mr. Terratin

My guess would be the element of Cartography is far stronger in geology than say archeology. As an older Geologist, I remember doing ALL mapping by hand. With the introduction of Geographical Information Systems a.k.a. GIS, cartography and be done and edited in a matter of days, minutes and seconds rather than months & weeks. GPS is a fantastic means of folding in field data, and changes to that data, into a GIS. The USGS has converted a good bit of their data to an electronic format and GSA being a professional organization with many of its members using this type of informational format it just seems a natural fit.

My interest in Geocaching as well as Earthcaching is a direct result due to being a professional w/a background in GIS.

Of course this is what I’m seeing… but then again I may be wrong????

...why geology related caches as a seperate type and not f.i. archaeology/history?

The EarthCache program is run by the Geologcal Society of America and I guess that they're keener on geology than anything else.....