Lame So Far

KoolAidWino

Just got a etrex vista hcx and I am a newbie. I am good with computers and so far this a ridiculous.

I need to load maps apparently, 200, bucks and you get some lines for roads.

So I am downloading all these free maps.

No spells this out.

How do you get these working? Manual is useless, just lame so far.

Just overall weak.

as with PCs it is usually the users fault but come on it couldn't be any harder to get get started.

What step are you stuck with?

This one details how to load maps from mapsource onto your GPSr.

http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/tutorials/how-...armin-gps-unit/

If you're downloading your maps from GPSFileDepot, the procedure seems to be:

1. Install mapsource

2. Run the map EXE to install maps into mapsource

3. Run mapsource

4. Select map

5. Select map tiles by using the tool that looks like an irregular shape (between "arrow to GPS" and "magnifying glass" - step 5 of the tutorial linked above). NOT the arrow selection tool. Use the tool to draw a box to select multiple tiles.

6. Send to GPS.

Maps are not necessary at all for geocaching, generally speaking. The Garmin eTrex Vista HCx only come with a basic basemap. It doesn't come with detailed street nor topographic maps. The Garmin web site has details specification lists for all it's GPS units.

However, if you are downloading free maps, the site from which you are downloading (you didn't specify which site) should have instructions on how ot load them to the GPS unit.

What information are you looking for that you feel is missing from the manual? Perhaps someone can be of assistance.

I would like just to load a street map to get started. So far mapsource is worthless. I am sure it would be easy if I shell out another 100.

With an Oregon street maps is easy. No need for mapsource. But that doesn't help you...

Did you try out the method I outlined above? Is any step giving you trouble? Remember, you need to select the map you want to upload in step 4.