Bushnell Onix 400 --- Help ----

fatjimmy

I received my Bushnell Onix 400 from Woot.com today... It will be a Christmas gift to myself.. Needless to say My wife says I have to wait like the kids. LOL So I need you all's help. I am a little new at Geo Caching. I tried it out with inferior equipment a couple summers ago. I love it. But not enough money to get a real GPS. I got the ONIX off Wootfor a steal. I am dying to use it. How can I just download the waypoint off the Geocache site right into the GPS?? I did install the software on my PC, so I can get prepared to launch on Christmas day. Do I have to key in each waypoint individually???? I don't see anywhere to download loc file in the software. Please help... My son is excited to do this too... Thanks Fat Jimmy

Edited by fatjimmy

I hate to throw a wet blanket on your excitement, but I fear you may soon discover the Onix units are not very Geocaching friendly. From what I have read here there seems to be no way to download Geocache waypoints from the site to the device. If you search this forum you will find several previous threads on these units which might be helpful.

I'm afraid I'd have to agree with Indotguy. First, you have to believe there's a reason the Bushnell has been selling for such very low prices (kind of like the Magellan Triton series). It has no added features or enhancements for geocaching. The reviews I've read since the 400 came out haven't been very flattering although you'll find a few positive reviews from buyers at Amazon. None of those positive reviews on Amazon however, mention anything about geocaching, only hunting, fishing, and hiking. I've also heard bad things about Bushnell's customer support but I have no first hand knowledge.

It may be a good unit for other tasks but it doesn't look like Bushnell has much interest in targeting geocaching enthusiasts.

Thanks for the input... but that is for uploading... i just want to download from the geo Cache site to my onix...