What Is The Benchmark

5¢

This goes along with Papa Bear's thread currently running in this forum. In this case, it looks like the whole thing is probably gone so it doesn't matter which is the mark.

But clearly the original description says it is the spire, the marker type does not disagree, and in the 1947 entry they considered the spire to be the mark and any point set under it just an aid.

I will start with I am still new at this benchmarking thing. I was reading some benchmark pages when I came across this one. My question is, what is the benchmark, the spire, or something inside the dome?

http://www.geocaching.com/mark/details.aspx?PID=KA1874

The benchmark is the spire itself. It sounds like the original benchmark from 1885 was gone, but before it was removed, a new one was established by a traverse from the old one. So if the new spire is still there, the benchmark is still there. :o It says that the one established in 1947 was recovered in good condition.

For these types of marks, my understanding is that you only need to be able to validate that the object can bee seen (ie, still exists). These are used to sight on from other points to establish a location.

This goes along with Papa Bear's thread currently running in this forum. In this case, it looks like the whole thing is probably gone so it doesn't matter which is the mark.

But clearly the original description says it is the spire, the marker type does not disagree, and in the 1947 entry they considered the spire to be the mark and any point set under it just an aid.

Thanks guys for the info. Just to let you know Bill, they didn't end up tearing down the spire. It is still there to the best of my knowledge. I will have to head over there this weekend if I get a chance. I will post a pic if it is still there. You guys are real helpful in this forum.