How Should I Go About Doing This?

wandat24

I am new to Geocaching, but want to place a cache. I live in a rather small town, and would like to place it around the local Civic Center. There is also a small park nearby (if you can call it that LOL). There is an interesting story that goes along with my town's Lions Club. I am wanting to include this in my cache (just a little bit of useless information that someone else may find interesting). There's a "nickname" for the town, I'm wanting to use part of it in the title of the cache. I am going to talk to the gentleman, that has a lot to do with the story, about using it. I am planning on telling him about our little game, and how it's done (maybe he'll enjoy playing too). I am also going to talk with the lady in control of the Civic Center to see if it'd be best to place it in the park (and who to talk to if so), or if it could be placed near the Center. I am not sure as to how to go about doing this; I think if I just tell (ask) the people that it involves it should be ok. Do any of you have a suggestion as to what to do? Thanks ahead of time for any information. Any and suggestions/information all are appreciated! <_<

I have been successful with obtaining permission to place geocaches on a local migratory bird refuge and in a local recreation area on BLM land by contacting the land manager directly and having a face to face meeting. I took in a set of sample geocaches (micro, small, standard) complete with blank log books and swag and the geocacher-u.com brochure. In both cases, a 15-20 minute conversation was all it took to obtain approval.