Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Bill93

NGS advice page for bench mark hunters

5 posts in this topic

I noticed that NGS has a good and fairly detailed tutorial set of pages on bench mark hunting and reporting, that has been recently updated. It has advice for both geocachers and professional surveyors.

https://www.ngs.noaa.gov/GPSonBM/

That is interesting, and normally I would not post here in the Benchmarking forums simple because I am a Geocacher, Waymarker, and enjoy Benchmarking. If you give it a good read, and I have, they make Geocachers sound like a group of small children that need adult supervision.

I know that my GPS unit is just a toy, but I can get readings to around 7 feet on average, and I can explain in detail the BM location enough to find it.

I have listed a few "recovered" BM's on the Waymarking site and another Geocache listing service that accepts them as a cache type. Anyway, BM hunting is one of my "Geocaching" interests, but I'm not a professional Bench Mark Hunter.

Thanks for posting the link. :)

Posted (edited)

they make Geocachers sound like a group of small children that need adult supervision.

I didn't get that sense at all. They give pretty basic instructions to both pro and amateur. And reading recovery reports on the data sheets, I see examples where some people in each group need detailed advice.

Not all the reports are up to high standards. There was an extreme example, where a cacher posted that NGS needed to move the disk because it wasn't where his handheld GPS said it should be. That got a lot of laughs from the pros and downgraded geocachers' status in their eyes. That person could have used a little education on what was going on. Looking at the recovery notes posted on the GC pages, I shudder to think someone might log to NGS with comments like "Found in the rain with my cousin BeetleBrain while visiting Grandma on vacation." A little reading on the NGS site may help people get a better perspective.