Download Individual Listings to GPX as Premium Member

CaryHaven

I'm a little confused by the description of this perk in premium membership. I know I can download coordinates to my lower-end GPS now. I also have a free app to convert LOC files to GPX files on my laptop which I then can send to my GPS in bulk. But this individual listing to GPX - it says you can download the entire page to my GPS if I'm reading it right? Is that correct? Like, with the hints, last found, etc etc whole thing? I'm just wondering if this is possible b/c it sure would make life easier.

Im still new at this but I am pretty sure before you are a premium member you can only download LOC files, the GPX files contain all the details about the cache like hints and I think the last 5 logs (correct me if I am wrong someone). It doesn't work on all GPSr's but the new fangled ones that have built in geocaching abilities can relay the information.

That's correct. The gpx format contains the entire listing plus the last 5 logs. Converting an loc to gpx doesn't fix the fact that your original loc download didn't have anything but the coordinates attached.

Having a PM account lets you bulk download caches by gpx and you can also download them one at a time right from the listing or the cache search page. That's helpful for newly published caches that you want to add to your GSAK file or just directly to your GPSr. Having the gpx file in a reader in the field means you never have to print out a cache listing again. Some of the new GPSr's will view the cache description info in the GPS, while the rest of us use things like a Palm Pilot to store thousands of cache listings in our shirt pocket for quick reference on the go.

Yeah, you'd think they'd try to sell that point a little harder as they would have many more PM members buying in to support the site if they understood all the benefits they are getting.