How to Find a Cache

U_Dac

Newbie here...

So, I download coordinates, go to the location and walk in the direction where my GPSr says that I'm "O ft from destination". So far, I have found three caches this way. I looked for a few more but can't find the exact location where I get the 0 feet reading. Sometimes, when I stand in a spot and turn around in the same spot, I get one reading saying I'm 0 feet and another saying I'm 5 ft away! Is it my GPSr, the connection, the weather, the coordinates or me!?

Recreational grade GPS units typically have an accuracy of 20 - 30 feet. Don't expect your GPS unit to take you to the exact spot. Remember that the hider's GPS unit has the same margin of error.

Use your GPS unit to get you to the general area and then use your senses to search around. Look for hiding places, things out of place, pile of sticks or rocks and things like that.

You will have to remember that your GPS can be up to 30 or so feet off at any given time. That and the person who hid the geocache could be 30 or so feet of as well. So don't take ground zero completely to heart.

When you get close put the GPS away and start a lookin.

May I also suggest you check out our GeoSnippits Videos which gives you a ton of suggestions and examples for what to look for while geocaching.

Here is one of the videos which is part one of our Introduction to GeoCaching series. It has been used on several corporate websites including for the Find Me geocaching based movie as well.

You can find it here:

You can see all the GeoSnippits videos (not including the ones on Michigan Magazine TV) here:

http://www.geosnippits.com

Hope it helps,

-HHH :huh:

When you are first starting out, here are some tips to make your searches more successful.

1. Start with only Traditional Caches.

2. Start with caches that are difficulty and terrain rated at 2.0 or lower.

3. Start with caches are are Regular and Large sized.