I Need Advice

imfrog2002

I'm JUST starting in GeoCaching, I joined a while ago, but I'm finally able to afford a GPS and I have a few questions...

1. What's a good GPS unit to buy, if you are a newbie on a tight budget?

2. What's the average time it takes to find a GPS once you get to the area?

3. What's Paperless Caching?

4. Can you re-use a Travel Bug if you own it, and it finished a journey and came back to you?

:D I need all the help that I can get!

I'm JUST starting in GeoCaching, I joined a while ago, but I'm finally able to afford a GPS and I have a few questions...

1. What's a good GPS unit to buy, if you are a newbie on a tight budget?

2. What's the average time it takes to find a GPS once you get to the area?

3. What's Paperless Caching?

4. Can you re-use a Travel Bug if you own it, and it finished a journey and came back to you?

:D I need all the help that I can get!

Here are some answers to your questions:

1. A good unit for a complete noob with no map needs is the base model garmin etrex (sub $100). This is a fine unit that will get you close to the cache. However, if you want an easier interface and more storage, you could shell out an extra 40-70$ for an etrex venture or legend.

2. The average time depends on ow well the cache is hidden. It cacn take anywhere to 5 mintues to an hour or two.

3. Paperless cching is using a palm pilot or other PDA to store detailed cache information as opposed to printing out the cache pagee.

4. Yes you can reuse a travel bug by giving it a new mission.

Welcome to the game.

1) I am quite happy with my Etrex Legend.

Dicks has a bundle package with some good accessories. $230

2) Finding a cache can take as little as one minute or as long as...forever.

It depends on where and how it is hidden.

3) Paper less caching is done with a PDA or laptop. You don't need to print all those cache pages.

There are more advantages but that is a whole nother thread.

4) Yes, you can give a travel bug a new mission.