Decent Pocket PC GPS Receivers?

Are there any decent Pocket PC GPS receivers that anyone would like to recommend? Are there any that are comparible in accuracy, signal strength, etc. to a regular handheld GPS unit?

I'm brand new to GPS, but have had a vague interest in the technology for a while, and am thinking of purchasing my first unit. I'm trying to decide whether to buy a standalone GPS unit (the Garmin eTrex Legend looks good), or to look for receivers for the Pocket PC.

I can see pros and cons either way: good colour screen on the Pocket PC; but not as rugged as a proper GPS unit.

I found a few possible units for the Pocket PC here; and another one here.

P.S. I have an HP Jornada 568.

[This message was edited by Simon Bradley on August 04, 2003 at 07:02 AM.]

Hi S.B.,

I have the Dell X5 with a CF GPS, it works great and makes an expensive device like the PDA all that more valuable. I just started using mine for GeaoCching and am using a CF GPS I bought thru ebay, about $100. There are many selections, try to find a GPS with the low power draw chip set.

I am using Delorme Xmap for handheld for streets and maps and VitoNav for the caching part. Another Cacher here, David Stein, has developed some promising software for cachers. Read about here under the topics (search "DavidStein")

Good luck with your PDA/GPS. I'll never buy a stanbdalone GPS again (I have a Garmin II+) and it works fine, but not anywhere near as flexible.

Good Luck, Be Safe,

Dave

I had an eTrex and an Axim and a 256mb CF card. A sure fire recipe for Pocket PC gps ability.

I ordered a cable online from here:

http://pc-mobile.net/gps.htm

I can hook my axim to my etrex now and I bought the bundle that comes with a lighter adapter for powering the axim.

I already had a fairly large CF card for map storage, and I don't really want to cart my Axim onto the trail all the time so I went with the less cool and elegant solution of having the cable.