New to geocaching

graciax452

Hi I'm new to geocaching and have been teaching my Brownies how to read maps, use GPS etc and talking about geocaching... and now they really want to go hunt for a cache. Do you have ideas for me of the best area to start looking? we are in North riding and were thingking of driving out to Magaliesburg or Haarties, the girls are between the ages of 7 and 10 and there is 6 of them, so nothing too daunting. They want it to be a bit of a hike too in nature but i dont think they can mange more than an hours walk one way. How do i go about finding the type of caches that would suit our group and are interesting enough for young girls?

Hi I'm new to geocaching and have been teaching my Brownies how to read maps, use GPS etc and talking about geocaching... and now they really want to go hunt for a cache. Do you have ideas for me of the best area to start looking? we are in North riding and were thingking of driving out to Magaliesburg or Haarties, the girls are between the ages of 7 and 10 and there is 6 of them, so nothing too daunting. They want it to be a bit of a hike too in nature but i dont think they can mange more than an hours walk one way. How do i go about finding the type of caches that would suit our group and are interesting enough for young girls?

Hi graciax452, and welcome to geocaching :)

I don't know the area at all, so I can't give you any specific cache suggestions, however I'm sure that one of the locals will point out some to you in due course. In the meantime, the best way to get started is to concentrate mainly on "Traditional" caches, and chose ones in and around the area of interest to you that are around the 1-2 star rating for both terrain and difficulty. These should be reletivly easy to reach and find. As you and the girls get more experience, you can move on to the various other types of caches and higher star ratings.