A few questions from a newbie!

Pengam

Hi all,

I'm brand new to the world of Geocaching, but from what I've read I want to get involved and I am about to head out to find my fist cache!

I wanted to ask a few newbie questions about trackables, so here goes;

1. Can you specifically search for trackables locations using the website? I'd like to help some along, but can't see how you can find where they are? Is it purely chance when you find them?

2. I live in Brighton and I want to get a trackable up to Leicestershire to my Dad then onto my Sister in Wales and finally onto my uncle in Japan. If I find the caches near my family can I explain somewhere that I would like it to eventually end up there? Or, is that complete wishful thinking?

Thanks, any help appreciated!

Dan

1. Can you specifically search for trackables locations using the website? I'd like to help some along, but can't see how you can find where they are? Is it purely chance when you find them?

All cache descriptions on geocaching.com contains a list of trackables that are currently in it. Or, at least supposed to be in it.

If you want to see specifically which geocaches contains trackables in your area, you'll have to use a Pocket Query. I think this is a Premium Member feature though. A Pocket Query (PQ) for this would basically say "show me all the caches inside a 100 km radius from me which have trackables in them". You can also filter for difficulty etc.

Which method you want to use is up to you and how you plan your activity. Personally I tend to stumble upon them, while others actively go hunting. Others again just care about the numbers and are more or less only interested in discovering them without necessarily moving them. There are many ways to play this game ;)