Oregon 200

patandkat

So, I picked up an Oregon 200 for 100 bucks today. I am a relative noob, but isn't this a fantastic deal? It should be here within a week and I can't wait to get out there for some Iowa winter caching! Up to this point, we have been using our BBs with pretty good results. We were starting to think about doing some hides, so I thought it was time to take the plunge. I really want to make sure our coords are spot on. I was just looking for a little feedback from the community on the perks of this unit, or anything I need to watch out for. Thanks a lot and happy caching!

So, I picked up an Oregon 200 for 100 bucks today. I am a relative noob, but isn't this a fantastic deal? It should be here within a week and I can't wait to get out there for some Iowa winter caching! Up to this point, we have been using our BBs with pretty good results. We were starting to think about doing some hides, so I thought it was time to take the plunge. I really want to make sure our coords are spot on. I was just looking for a little feedback from the community on the perks of this unit, or anything I need to watch out for. Thanks a lot and happy caching!

That's a great price. I believe the unit is discontinued but it has all the basic functionalities of the Oregon GPS line. The only annoying thing is that it has an electronic compass which is pretty useless instead of a "real" compass.

The screen backlighting is a bit feeble and makes it hard to see in very sunny conditions. Other than that, it's a great GPS. I have to admit that I had an Etrex Vista HCX before and I kind of regret the upgrade since it was easier to read the screen on it even though it didn't support any of the cool paperless geocaching stuff.

So overall -- it's a good upgrade.

- Cheznousse.