Waypoint Management on 60csx

TheWinterTrio

Hi, I'm just getting started and am wondering how people handle the 1000 waypoint limit... I like to just load it up and then not have to touch it for a while, but I end up filling the memory and having to delete things in the field to make space...

I was wondering how most people go about getting rid of the ones you don't want on the unit anymore. (say after a vacation someplace you will not be going back to anytime soon).

I was thinking of just deleting ALL waypoints and then just reload the ones I want with GSAK... Is there a better way? I've got about 900 in there right now (after deleting inactive caches), but I'm going on Vacation in a couple weeks and will want to load a bunch in the areas were going....

Thanks.

-S

I have not found a need for the 1000 waypoint limit. I created a PQ for 500 caches nearest my home. I have it run once a week. I run it through GSAK and download it to my GPS'r. If I am going some place in particular I will delete the waypoints in my GPS'r, then write a query for the area I am going to, then open in GSAK, download to GPS'r and send the file to Mapsource. Using Mapsource I create a route in the order in which I want to hunt. When I have completed the route I transfer just the route because I already have the waypoints in the GPS'r.

No matter if people are telling you that you don't need the 1000+ waypoints, when there's a will, there's a way.

Unfortunately, the 1000 waypoints limit is strict. You won't be able to change that. You can cheat, though.

There is something called POI (Point of Interest) which you can load on the unit. It will go on the microSD card and is almost unlimited.

There are many ways to load POIs on the GPSr (most from GSAK). I did create a macro a long time ago and I know a lot more we're also published later on. You have the choice.

How does it work?

- export all the caches you want from GSAK to POIs in a specific directory on your PC