"Geocaching Mode"

I'm on the Garmin website comparing handheld models, and there's a feature that Garmin refers to as "Geocaching mode." Not all the eTrex series models have this feature when I filter on it, even though those that don't seem like they would be okay for geocaching. What functions make up the "Geocaching mode" in Garmin's eyes? I'm just curious because I'm new to geocaching and want to understand the basic technology before I buy my first geocaching GPS.

This is distinct from true "paperless" geocaching, which is only supported on high-end units like the Garmin Colorado, Oregon, Dakota and the DeLorme PN-20, -30 and -40. With paperless support, you have the ability to store all the information about the cache right on the device -- including the full description, any hints, and the most recent log entries. You also have the ability to write log entries on the unit, and later upload them to geocaching.com to serve as the basis for your posted logs.

None of the listed units support automatic download of images associated with the cache. Those that have image viewers allow you to do so with extra manual steps. Although some (like the Colorado) are worse than others, any log entries you write on these units will be brief because of the input mechanisms they use. There are differences among the various models as to how many caches they will hold, how long the descriptive information can be, and so forth. But any one of them implements paperless in a very usable way.