Convert British Grid Ref to Lat / long

MikeGozna

Hello everyone. :laughing:

I am very new to geo-caching, but have done quite a bit of letterboxing on Dartmoor in my younger days. Myself and my wife have just taken up walking, letterboxing and now geocaching, (In our old age lol.). What I would like to be able to do is to convert 3 or 4 figure grid references to lat / long co-ordinates and put them into my GPS. This will cut out a load of compass work while getting to the right spot give or take a few metres, then we can start taking bearings to narrow down the exact spot. Would be much quicker.

Sorry this is a bit long winded. My question is a. can this be done, b. How accurate would it be and c. What is the best program, site etc to do it for me.

Thanks in advance for any assistance I can get on this topic.

Mike Gozna. and the Mrs.

If you set your GPS to Ordnance Survey GB as the datum, and British Grid as the position format then you can enter the grid ref you're used to, and then change to WGS84, and Deg/min/decimal min to convert to the coords we use for worldwide geocaching.

Thankyou for that, that will be very usefull.

You may be able to help me with another problem I have, as I explained before I am new to caching and have just bought a Garmin Etrex Vista HCx GPS. I also bought the Topo GB maps and installed. The problem is I dont think I am getting the level of detail on the maps I should do, but I have no one or nothing to compare it with, I am not showing any streets or contour lines on any maps. Could you suggest the best settings or a test to see if the maps have installed correctly. So to be a pain (A newbie at 52!! lol)

Thanks in advance.

Edited by MikeGozna

If you set your GPS to Ordnance Survey GB as the datum, and British Grid as the position format then you can enter the grid ref you're used to, and then change to WGS84, and Deg/min/decimal min to convert to the coords we use for worldwide geocaching.

Thanks for that.